Double win for Prestwich as SKZN successfully defends SA Champs title

posted by Aden Kleve on 13th October 2011

The final day of the 25th Annual South African Bodyboarding Championships was phenomenal! The standard of riding displayed by the riders was without a doubt some of the best bodyboarding there has been in South Africa to date. As predicted the swell arrived right on cue with 5-6 feet sets rolling into Big Bay.

The morning produced some close-out sets, but as the day progressed and the sun came out, the beach filled up and the waves just got bigger and better. All the Finals were amazing to watch, the Grandmasters were busting out in the big surf with Sean Olberholzer taking the win and the Ladies were going hard too with Janneke De Kock taking a well-deserved the title.

Nick Flood was determined to win and did so as he just put everything on the line in the final and came out on top in the Mens division. The Dropknee division displayed incredible riding with Dylan Van Tonder destroying the final with his big strong snaps and carves.

The Junior division was tough. The waves were pulsing through all day and as they arrived the waves got even better with Steven Du Preez and Storm Prestwich battling it out head to head in the final, both exhibiting enormous moves. However it was Storm Prestwich who dominated and got one up on Steven Du Preez and took the Juniors SA title of 2011!

The Pro division consisted of Storm Prestwich, Josh Kleve, Derek Footit and Rheinhard Du toit. These guys fought it out right until the end, all showing what they could do. They were going big and boosting big backflips, inverts and ARS's! No one could tell who won. But as the prize giving came round the winner was crowned and for the first time EVER, a Junior has won both the Juniors and Pro divisions - Well Done to Storm Prestwich for his amazing achievement!

The Fishman trophy went to the very well deserved and stand-out team of SKZN! Congratulations!

Boys Division
1 Tristan Roberts
2 Michael Mynhardt
3 Tim L Bowman
4 Dylan Le Roux

Dropknee Division
1 Dylan van Tonder
2 Stuart Bradford
3 Ryno du Toit
4 Murray Jones

Grand Masters Division
1 Michael van Huyssteen
2 Len Bradford
3 Riaan Nutt

Juniors Division
1 Storm Prestwich
2 Matthew Lombard
3 Stephen du Preez
4 Tyler Voster

Masters Division
1 Sean Oberholzer
2 Lee Moran
3 Morne Laubscher
4 Gerrit Hitge

Mens Division
1 Nic Flood
2 Matthew Webster
3 Nick Phillips
4 Jaryd van Daalen

Pro Division
1 Storm Prestwich
2 Joshua Kleve
3 Rheinhard du Toit
4 Derek Footit

Womens Division
1 Janneke de Kock
2 Danielle Beekman
3 Kerry Porter

The competition would not have been possible without the following sponsors:

Creature leashes
Bassett Stationers
Melkbos OK
Melkbos surf
Cafe Sofia
Ocean Minded
Caltex Melkbos
Bos Ice Tea

Without them SA Champs wouldn't have been as successful as it was so a huge THANK YOU to them all.

Also, a big thanks to the Western Province team for doing such an awesome job of hosting, organizing and setting up of the 25th annual SA Bodyboarding Champs.

Thanks to all the provinces and we will see you all next year where SA's will be hosted by Southern Cape.



International Bodyboarding Association News

International Bodyboarding Association

SA Bodyboarding Champs

SA Bodyboarding Champs
Event Page
Prestwich storms to historic double
15th October 2011
SA Bodyboarding Champs Day 3 & 4
7th October 2011
SA Bodyboarding Champs Day 1 & 2
6th October 2011
Defending Champs Southern Kwa-Zulu Natal Name SA Champs Team
23rd September 2011
Western Province announces 2011 SA Champs Team
22nd September 2011
Eastern Province Team Announced for SA Champs
22nd September 2011
A Quarter Century of SA Bodyboarding Champs History - well, almost!
21st September 2011
The Mother City gears up for the 25th annual South African Bodyboarding Champs
17th September 2011

Copyright © 2018 Sixty40 Bodyboarding. All rights reserved.