SABA: NKZN launches the Hot Buttered Pro-Am


posted on 23rd January 2004

The first event on the South African Bodyboarding circuit for 2004 was held on the 19/20 December 2003 at Richards Bay. The 3A Hot Buttered Pro-Am, the main event of the annual uMhlathuze Beach Festival, attracted entrants from around South Africa who visited the city to compete for valuable points, prizes as well as R8500 in prizemoney for the top 8 Pro Division contestants. Among the 88 entrants were 40 of the country's top seeded riders including the current National Champions in seven of the nine divisions. This competition was also the venue for a national trial to determine the team of three bodyboarders to join the surf team representing South Africa at the 2004 World Surfing Games.

The preliminary round of the event took place on the first day of competition where 18 minute "heats" of 3-5 riders fought it out in 3-4 foot South Easterly conditions. The format was knockout with the top 2 riders from each heat advancing through to the semi-finals and finals on the second day.

Day two saw the competitors battling each other as well as the conditions as a strong North East wind battered the coastline. The top-class riding in the finals outshone the deteriorating conditons and the riders able to find and make the most of the elusive air sections emerged as the winners.

Boys U/12Girls U/16Masters
1 Terence Pieters SKZN1 Lize-Mari Ras SKZN1 Mike van Huysteen CKZN
2 Marnus vd Merwe NKZN2 Tamara Badenhorst NKZN2 Gavin Topham NKZN
3 Brumilda Badenhorst NKZN
1 Adam Morley SC1 Pamela Bowren EP1 Wayne Beekman SKZN
2 Dane Beales CKZN2 Inge Pieters SKZN2 Andre Marais NKZN
3 Jaryd Enslin SKZN3 Robyn Sorenson CKZN3 Pieter Nell EP
4 Rossouw van Dijk NKZN4 Danielle Danter SKZN4 John Cadman NKZN
1 Daniel Worsley WP1 Craig Maree CKZN1 Derek Footit SKZN - R2 800
2 Kyle Enslin SKZN2 Steven Keuning SKZN2 Darren Halse SKZN - R1 800
3 Wayne Smith SKZN3 Vaughn Harris SC3 Mark McCarthy NKZN - R1 200
4 Grant Lee SKZN4 Simon Hagen WP4 Robert Gray CKZN R900

Riders selected for the surf team for the World Surfing Games were: Ladies - Inge Pieters. Men - Darren Halse and Vaughn Harris.

Well done to the Northern KwaZulu Natal Bodyboarding Association for the smooth running and well managed competition. A great time was had by all and the association would like to thank the following sponsors and individuals for making the event the success it was: Hot Buttered Bodyboards, Sonic Footwear, Driaan Cloete, Y2K Industrial Power Cleaning, Best Cut Butcheries, Ahmed and JC Surf Co, Colleen van Zyl, Billy McCarthy, Trixy Cadman, Macs Fish and Chips, Macdonalds, Signforce, Hillside Aluminium, the City of uMhlathuze and Surfalliance.



South African Bodyboarding Association News

South African Bodyboarding Association

Hot Buttered Pro-Am

Event Page

Hot Buttered Pro-Am Sponsors

Hot Buttered
2004 SABA Circuit kicks off with the HB Pro-Am
26th November 2003

Copyright © 2020 Sixty40 Bodyboarding. All rights reserved.