Foot bunion from fins

• Inky
    April 2009
    Hi guys,

Does anyone else get funny boney foot bunions from their fins?? It's like a hard bony nob on your foot, it doesn't hurt, I'm just wondering if I should be worried. I have been bodyboarding for 10 years so it's not a new thing. I don't want to lose my foot hey!

Please okes :mrgreen:

Bodyboarding 2,638 views

20 Replies

• Wolfie
    April 2009
    ya i do from vipers and pods and im only bodyboarding 4 months now! :(
  • Inky
    April 2009
    Ja I used to wear Manta blades that were a bit small so I guess that where it started, I have Vipers now and it seems to be fine, I just don't want it to get worse
  • ElementreeElementree
    April 2009
    In my experience, different fins effect different people in different ways and it all has to do with the shape of that persons feet.

Over the years I have used a few pairs of fins - HB, Manta Blades, Octoblades, Redleys, Hydro T2 and now Vipers.

Each of these effected my feet in different ways. Some left cuts while others, like you, caused bunions to form.

In my opinion, bunions are just part of the parcel and aren't really something to worry too much about - for now.

Bunions do fade and pretty much disappear over time, but that means no more bodyboarding if you want this to happen!

My main concern would be the long term affects of the bunions. To me they resemble arthritis and I do worry that in years to come my love for bodyboarding may cost me the ability to walk freely.

But hey...I will deal with that when I get there.

Enjoy the ride!
  • Inky
    April 2009
    No more bodyboarding!? HA like hell! HAHA! :mrgreen:

My Vipers seem to be keeping it at bay, those are padded snd work lekka.

I'm also worried about the long term thing. I'd like to know if Mike Stewart and the boarders from that era have similar problems....well Mike is still going strong so I guess it can't be too bad... Like you said, I'll worry about it later!