Need some Advice on forward spins please!

• StJohnLombard_Bodyboarder
    January 2008
    "IF YOU READ THIS PLEASE DON'T IGNORE IT"

Well I'm not the best bodyboarder around so And I'm trying to get a 360 right. And need some advice as to what I'm doing wrong.

I do the 360 but i end up coming back over the lip....

Maybe my timing is wrong or my positioning on the waves face??

It was a small day at yellows.

Heres me: (Let the Animations load abit)

Heres the ride and 360.

bodyboardinglh0.gif

Heres the 360 Slowed down.

360ls3.gif

Any advice???

HELP A NEWB OUT

Coaching 3,925 views

17 Replies

• ElementreeElementree
    January 2008
    I'm no pro, but i'd say that those waves were a bit too small and spinning on smaller waves is tough...

Other than that try spinning earlier on the smaller waves, more in the "critical" section (where the wave has it's most power) and try looking in the direction you'd like to turn, using your body to help by shifting your balance in that direction.

:lol:
  • ElementreeElementree
    January 2008
    Oh yeah and instead of just lifting your legs out of the water...try giving a solid boost in the direction (use your fins to do most of the rotation) you'd like to turn and at the same time take your legs out of the water.

If that makes any sense...
    January 2008
    Thanks will try it.

One other thing, On faster/bigger waves if i try to spin i just loose control once i reach the 180 degree and fall off my board.
  • MichelleDaniels
    January 2008