Round 2 and 3 of the 2012 IBA Box Pro complete

posted by Sacha Specker on 29th March 2012

IBA 2012 Box Pro
Event 2 of 8, Mens Grand Slam Series
The Box, Margaret River, Western Australia
March 26 - April 4

Round 2 and 3 of the 2012 IBA Box Pro ran to completion in barreling 2-3 meter waves. With brisk offshore winds in the early morning, riders took advantage of the clean barrels over the shallow reef. Only the last three of todays 12 heats experienced light onshore winds, making it ideal for big arial manouvres.

South Africa's Mark McCarthy was a man on fire today, scoring an impressive 18.55 heat total by picking off the biigger sets and driving through two unbelievably deep barrels. Only catching four waves in in his Round 3 heat, all of which scored higher than 7.75 out of 10, McCarthy would have won any heat of the day, using any two of his scores as counting waves.

Jared Houston's Round 3 performance had his fellow competitors and spectators on the edge of their seats, with what people are calling the biggest air of the event. Houston made his intentions clear, drawing a clean line off the bottom, hitting the end-bowl and taking to the sky with a massive full body invert, but just coming unstuck on the landing.

Other heat winners included local boys, Ryan Hardy (AUS/Margaret River), 17 year old Lewy Finnegan (AUS/Mandurah) and East Coasters Andrew Lester (AUS/Cronulla), Ben Player (AUS/Avalon) and Michael Novy (AUS/Copacabana) who will join the remaining final 16 riders in the "Non Elimination" Round 4, scheduled for a possible start at 7:30 am tomorrow. With nobody getting knocked out of the event in this round, riders will be going all out, knowing they have nothing to loose.

If you missed out on last years Box Pro, thanks to iinet check out the 2011 Box Pro Documentary and the crazy conditions the riders had to tackle.

Below are todays Round 2 and 3 results.

Round 2 and 3 results



International Bodyboarding Association News

International Bodyboarding Association

IBA Box Pro

IBA Box Pro
Event Page
Mitch Rawlins wins 2012 IBA Box Pro; Mark McCarthy bags 2nd
31st March 2012
Round 1 of the 2012 IBA Box Pro complete
28th March 2012

Copyright © 2019 Sixty40 Bodyboarding. All rights reserved.