Grand Slam Series in Arica, Day 7 Round 2 completed

posted on 26th May 2011

The IBA Arica, Chilean Challenge Grand Slam kicked off with with round 2 today in clean 4-6 foot barrels at El Gringo's split-peak setup.

Dallas Singer (AUS, Newcastle) posted the highest total heat score of the day, an impressive 16.50 points out of 20. Singer seemed unstoppable, leaving the other three competitors requiring a combination of scores to take the lead. "Even when you have the rest of the heat in a combo situation, you feel like you need to get another good wave and improve on your scores," Singer added.



The only two competitors to rack up wins in both round 1 and 2 are Australians, Ben Player (Avalon) and Singer (Newcastle).

Local trialist, Alan Munoz (CHI) was able to improve on his round 1 runner up position, with a convincing win against established top 24 riders, Dave Winchester (AUS, Mullumbimby) and Pierre Louis Costes (FRA, Capbreton). "I am so happy to go into round 3 with this win." Munoz elated, "This has been an amazing opportunity to surf against the top 24 here at home in Chile."

Christian Fernandez (CHI) a local wildcard, was unable to top Gastao Entrudo's (POR, Meco) barrel to roll combos, totalling 16/20 points. Although finishing runner up in his round 2 heat, Fernandez stunned competitors and judges alike with his high risk air-roll-spin to roll combinations. Fernandez mentioned: "It is always an honour to surf with the top 24 here at home. I love watching them tackle and excel at this high performance wave like El Gringo."

Brazilian GSS rider Lucas Noguiera was another stand out in round 2, launching a huge air-roll-spin over the notoriously shallow end bowl of El Gringo's left.

Other heat winners of round 2 are Guilherme Tamega (BRA, Copacabana), Charly Chapelet (FRA) and Michael Novy (AUS, Central Coast)

A major spike in swell combined with clean conditions is sure to provide El Gringo with world class waves for the remainder of the event. Event organisers are expecting and action packed round 3.

The call will be made at 7:00am local time, (1:00am Hawaii, 8:00am Rio de Janeiro, 1:00pm Cape Town, 7:00pm Perth, 9:00pm Sydney). For specific time zones, use the IBA World Clock.

After round 2, the updated leader board gives the riders an idea of their performance required in round 3 to ensure a spot in the top 16.

For daily video updates of the Arica Chilean Challenge visit www.ibaworldtour.com.

Jeff Hubbard and friends enjoy a solid free surf at El Gringo

For regular updates go to the IBA facebook page, where you can win World Tour paraphernalia just for joining.

Shop online at the IBA store where you can get you hands on limited Pipeline and Box event T's.

Don't miss a beat, check out the brand new IBA Tour Guide iPhone App to stay in the loop where ever you are. All the action from every IBA World Tour event is made available for live viewing via www.redbull.com. The finals will be broadcast live at www.redbull.tv.

When the contest is off or on hold, fans can have fun playing the wave of the event (El Gringo) on YouRiding BODYBOARDING online game.

802 views

Comments

International Bodyboarding Association News

International Bodyboarding Association

Arica Chilean Challenge

Event Page
Results
Gallery
Tamega wins Arica Chilean Challenge; McCarthy bags Third
28th May 2011
Mark McCarthy powers through to final 16 at IBA Arica Chilean Challenge
27th May 2011
Arica Chilean Challenge Grand Slam Series Round One Completed
23rd May 2011

Copyright © 2014 Sixty40 Bodyboarding. All rights reserved.