The HUMAN Teahupoo Challenge

posted by Mark Fordham on 5th May 2003

The first event on the International Bodyboarding Association (IBA) World Super Tour (WST)

The Human Teahupoo Challenge will gather the world's best bodyboarders, including 2002 WST world champion Guilherme Tamega (Brazil), 2002 WQT World Champion Nicolas Capdeville (France) and current Tahiti Skins Champion Ryan Hardy (Australia) to the most spectacular wave location in the world.

The 10-day waiting period enables the organizers to select the optimum wave and weather conditions at the world-renowned Heavy Weight Break - Teahupoo, considered by many as one of the world most dangerous waves. Teahupoo is known for its purity and natural raw power. Waves reach heights of up to 12-15ft drawing off a razor shape reef, breaking below sea level, leaving any unlucky individual who is unfortunate to come unstuck in the attempt to challenge this beast to think twice about a second attempt.

This event will be the first of 5 IBA World Super Tour Events (WST) on the 2003 IBA Calender carrying a total purse of USD $ 20,000.

Defending men's champion Ryan Hardy (AUS) who won the event in 2001 with a spectacular 360 forward spin under the lip on a solid 8ft monster will be one of the favourites. "I have just returned from Teahupoo and it was absolutely pumping, solid 10-12ft grinders were rolling down the reef". 

The Wildcard entrants will consist of two Tahitians and other Teahupo'o specialists selected from around the world. Wildcards for the event have been given out to the following athletes

IBA Wildcards

Kainoa McGee - Hawaii
Hermano Castro - Brazil
Brett Lillyman - Australia
Simon Thornton - Australia

Sponsors Wildcards

Doug Showell and John Showell - Australia (Sponsored by Human)

Tahitian Wildcards


The Human Teahupoo Challenge will be the first of two sponsored events by Human on the 2003 IBA World Super Tour. The events will take competitors to two premier surf locations known for its enormous wave power. The other event is the Human Shark Island Challenge (June 15 - July 24).

Competitors for The Human Teahupoo Challenge are as follows

1 G.TAMEGA Brazil 13 G.MILLER Australia
2 A.LESTER Australia 14 T.PLAYER Australia
3 S.VIRTUE Australia 15 M.STEWART Hawaii
4 J.HUBBARD Hawaii 16 T.WILLIAM Australia
5 B.DAY Australia 17 N.CAPDEVILLE France
6 B.PLAYER Australia 18 C.DUFAURE France
7 A.TAYLOR South Africa 19 D.WINCHESTER Australia
8 A.BOTHA South Africa 20 B.HOLLAND Australia
9 D.KING Australia 21 M.RAWLINS Australia
10 R.HARDY Australia 22 A.COLUCCI Venezuela
11 J.HAZLE Australia 23 J.KIRKMAN Australia
12 K.HUNT Hawaii 24 P.BARCELLOS Brazil
1 K.McGEE Hawaii 5 J.SHOWELL Australia
2 H.CASTRO Brazil 6 D.SHOWELL Australia
3 B.LILLYMAN Australia 7 Tahitian wildcard TBA
4 S.THORNTON Australia 9 Tahitian wildcard TBA

The Human Teahupoo Challenge

Is proudly sponsored by:
In partnership with / Affiliated Sponsors of The Human Teahupoo Challenge:
Europcar - Tahiti
Air Tahiti Nui
Pension CHAYAN
SHOP 2000
Federation Tahitienne de Surf

Further Information - stay tuned to



International Bodyboarding Association News

International Bodyboarding Association

The Human Teahupoo Challenge

Event Page

The Human Teahupoo Challenge Sponsors

Teahupoo: Kingy Wins
6th June 2003

Copyright © 2020 Sixty40 Bodyboarding. All rights reserved.